Nightforce question

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by mtp29464, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. mtp29464

    mtp29464 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    I have a nightforce 5.5x 22 x 56 NXS with a NP-1 reticle I aquired recently and mounted it on a 300 wsm I have. With the elevation turned all the way down, the scope is still 12" high at 100 yds. I'm guessing the rifle is sighted in dead on at about 400 with all the elevation adjustment left. Is this common for nightforce scopes?

    This is my first nightforce and I did not get any manuals with it, so I don't know if I can adjust it. Can
    some one please give em some advise.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,711
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    I have two NXS scopes. One currently has a .020 base the other standard. One a 338 , the other a 260. Both were able to be zeroed to 100 yards. One was mounted on other rifles, 223, 308, with standard Mark 4 bases and were able to be zeroed with at least a couple of revolutions left. I think you should check your base heights.
     

  3. dbhostler

    dbhostler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    837
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Something isn't right. Call Nightforce.
    db
     
  4. Hollywood1009

    Hollywood1009 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Absoluteley YOUR BASES ARE BACKWARDS!! LOL ITS OKAY SOMETIMES GUNSMITHS MAKE A SIMPLE MISTAKE!!
     
  5. mtp29464

    mtp29464 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    I neglected to mention that I have a zero MOA one piece base. It can't be on backwards. I'm dumb, but I ain't stupid.
     
  6. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,711
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Does your scope have a zero stop that could be adjusted too high?
     
  7. marinetowgunner

    marinetowgunner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    if it has zero stop you need to make sure the clutch assembly is backed all the way to the top of the turret.

    you have 100moa worth of adjustment in that scope so even with a 0moa base you have plenty of adjustment.
     
  8. tom m.

    tom m. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    You must have......
    More than 40moa base, or more than 40 moa rings(dunno if that exists), or a tall ring in back and a short one in front(believe it or not i have seen it....poor scope)....or lastly, a bad scope.