Need Your Advice

eferry

Just a beginner who has a few questions: I just had my Leupold VX3 4.5-14 x 50LR on my 300 ultra mag zeroed the other day. I have M1 windage and elevation turrets on the scope.

My questions are:
1. Do I reset my 0 by using the allen key to re-adjust the elevation knob/zero mark?

2. With the load I am shooting, I have an estimated 41.16" inches of drop at 500 yards pushing a 200 grain accubond. Theoretically, to adjust for this shot with 1/4" MOA scope adjustments, would I calculate the number of clicks by dividing 41.16" /.25"?

3. If my assumption is correct in question #2, would I have enough adjustment in my scope to do this, or would I have to aim my crosshairs higher to compensate for this type of shot?

I am really confused and am looking for clarification.
Sorry for such dumb questions, but I am just a beginner. Thanks for the advice in advance.

In short... no! As you go farther out the adjustments change with the length of distance. Your scope will have more than enough to get you to 500yrds.

Here is some quick math:

100yrd= .25" per click
200yrds= .5" per click
300yrds= .75" per click
400yrds= 1.00" per click

This trend continues as you extend your range. 1/16" = 25yrds. per click. That is why when you try to adjust for shorter yardages you need to far exceed the number of clicks per inch. As you go out the number of clicks decrease. At 1000yrds one click equals 2.5". Hope this helps.

Tank