Need help from the 7 mm STW boys

Blacktail

I have a STW a guy built for me 26" Shilen Mpi Stock etc. I am pretty new to loading and after some help from folks here got 72.5 gr of H4831 to shoot 140 accubonds at about 3250 fps and hold under .5". Was happy until it blew up on a whitetail running away from me at 150 yards. The bullet hit the left hind quarter and never even reached or broke the bone. Since then tried the TSX in 140 and with the same powder 3/4" up to 75 gr of powder and 3350 fps. I now hear the bullet maybe too hard and not opening up enough. I got the gun for antelope, coues and long range mulies. I am now thinking bout using the accubonds on lopes and coues and blacktails and the tsx on mulies. Any suggestions? Maybe the mrx, berger or even an A-Frame. The gun does not like Nosler Part. Thanks

STW

I have one with a H-S Precision 25" barrel. I tried 140 Nosler Balistic Tips at 3422 FPS on two elk and they went through like armour peircing bullets. I tried the 139 Hornady SST's with outstanding success on whitetail's. I am heading west at the end of the month loaded with 150 gr. Swift Sirocco's at
3307fps. I use RL22 82grs in the 140's and 80grs's in the 150's.[ go up to that slowly ] Your gun might not take that much. I use the WW cases three times and chuck them. The bolt opens good and I am getting 5/8th's to 7/8th's groups at 100yards. I have killed deer out to 550yds with no problem.
7828 gives the same results with the same charge weights also but I have a lot of RL22 so I use that.
Bob

I've had good luck with Berger 168VLD's over a stiff charge of H-1000 on whitetails.Terrific expansion plus complete pass thrus.Also they have proven to be scary accurate out of the two custom Rem 700's I've tried 'em in.

Personally I would try the 154gr Hornady Interbonds. I have had excellent luck with the 180 IB in a 30-378 holding together and creating a large wound channel.