Need 1st hand 270win info

archanfire

Hello all. I'm scoping my Rem700 long range model(I wanted a heavy barrel), and would like to ask the knowledgeable community what max ranges would allow for an ethical/clean shot on elk, deer and hogs. People on other forums swear the 270win will comfortably take a deer past 500 yards, while others wouldn't trust it past 400. It's my first 270win, so I'm new to the whole cartridge. I found some Norma Evo-Strike 96gr on sale for $19 a box online and ordered/received it, but I assume it'll be good for coyotes, or anything smaller than a deer. I've heard 130gr is pretty much the gold standard for the chambering, but as always, I prefer first hand accounts.

MANY Thanks in advance!

Edit: If I could get preferred bullet weights/types for the aforementioned game, that will also be awesome.

140 AB work great for me on deer, bear or elk out to 500+
Hmmm, never considered bear(didn't think the round had enough oomf for something like that), but around here they aren't a concern. Good info to have nonetheless as I may pick some up for tougher critters.

At 500yd+/-, do you think 270 is too weak for an elk? I'm sure in the end it's all about bullet type and placement, but I'm trying to keep it as clean as possible. If I need to keep things inside 500, I'm fine with it, I just like to know good baseline of limitations. Thanks