My Trip To Defensive Edge Long Range Shooting School

Broz

I want to share the story of my trip to Idaho to attend Shawn Carlocks "Defensive Edge" Long Range shooting school. About a year ago I decided to sign up for the full basic and advanced class that Shawn and Bob Carlock offer. I have been shooting to distances over 1000 yards for quite a few years. But, I figured a guy can always pick up some knowledge or techniques when you rub shoulders with one of the best. I was right, this was money and time well spent. Plus, I met some great people there.
Day one found us traveling into the high country of Idaho to a flatspot in the road known as "Long Range Shooting Camp". Upon getting out of my truck I saw the huge wall tent that would serve as the school room for day one and then transform into roomy accommodations for us 4 attendees. Also a kitchen set up for some for preperation of some awesome "Dutch Oven" prepaired meals.
Here is the shooting camp view.

IMG_0907Small.jpg

IMG_0909Small.jpg

After the class time we moved right into shooting for the next 3 days. Shawn is adamant about getting you trigger time and lots of it. You shoot up, down, flat, into winds with lift, drift you name it. Never a dull moment! There are plans in place with back up plans for what to do if the weather is better suited.
Here are a couple very educational pictures. After a light mountain rain or mornings with a high dewpoint the fog lifts revieling the wind currents. I stood at camp amazed by what the winds were doing as they flow up or down the canyons. Or the lift created as they meet or travel up a slope. It's like the wind was just painted for you to view.
IMG_0910Small.jpg

IMG_0912Small.jpg

The evenings are a great time too. The LCD flat screen is set up and you have a choice of movies for the evening where we all sit and visits about the days shooting or what ever comes up.
IMG_0915Small.jpg

Yeah, we were roughing it!!:cool: Yup, thats "ToombStone" on the screen.