Moly help?

desertcj

If you don't like moly, that's fine...I can see why. I happen to like it at this point but recently I've been having trouble coating my bullets. I use a vibratory tumbler like a lot of people. I wash the bullets in 90% isopropyl alcohol. I usually dry tumble in small peanut butter jars with copper coated BBs and I've done hundreds this way usually with good results. My problem bullets are 55gr Nosler lead free ballistic tips. I had to tumble them for so long that some of them got dings in them from the BBs! I'm talking like all night and all day in the tumbler but they did finally coat.

I just found out about wet moly tumbling and decided to try it. So far this batch of the same bullets has been going for about 8 hours now and they aren't looking like they are getting coated at all? I made sure that there is plenty of moly in the jars. It is moly mud in there. What am I suddenly doing wrong?

Just a shot in the dark, as I've got very little experience with moly...

But could it be the 90% alcohol...or more precisely the 10% water.

Would acetone not work better?

By chance is this the first time you coated the lead free Noslers?

Due to the make up of the bullet/ jacket alloy, not all bullets tumble to the same color. The slugs are probably fully coated and just be a different color. I have seen the different color on the different slugs that I tumble. About 8 years ago I decided to try Barnes bullets and they were different than the Noslers I have moly coated.

I prefer to wash my bullets in denatured alcohol due to the denatured drying without leaving any type of film. Also, most of the time you will not gain any more treatment tumbling more than two hours.

Good luck.

Matter of fact it is the first time trying to coat this particular bullet. They are also much lighter than the bullets I've been doing. I'm not sure if that makes any difference.