Loading Range Brass and expecting Precision

SteelBanger

How bad am I chasing my tail trying to reload essentially range brass and get any sense of precision out of it? I've been reloading for about 5 years and had saved my own brass for a few years before I jumped into loading and also picked up a bunch of brass over the years when at the range. My supply is endless and I do sort it by head stamp but there's just no way it is consistent from piece to piece. Even if I take my sorting to the next level and sort by weight I could still have dramatic volume differences, neck tension, etc. Most of my shooting over the years has been at 100y and I was barely satisfied with my mostly MOA shooting but I've recently started stretching it out to 500y and quickly realized how lacking my loads are. SD / ES no where near what they need to be even with an RCBS chargemaster throwing my charges.

Right now I'm just messing with .223 in my AR's and was thinking about grabbing some Starline brass ... at $63 for 250 pieces it's not bad and I've seen enough decent reviews about starline to feel like it's good enough to take my loads up a couple notches. I also use starline brass for my .357 loads and it's been good for that, but not quite the same as bottleneck rifle cartridges. Is buying quality brass going to help me much and are there other brands of brass I should consider at comparable prices? I'm not willing to pay Lapua prices, especially in an AR.

Depends on who left it, why, and how much they left. Most of the time you can usually tell the difference between 1x fired and reloaded-- I wont touch reloaded brass, there is a reason it's still there.

I once found 1x fired nosler 223 brass- lots of it and all the empty boxes in the trash at my range-- nice score. One nice thing about mil/nato brass is the year headstamp if you use it.

I usually reserve range pick up rifle brass for plinking or trading or selling.

Pistol, I'll keep as long as it's the same headstamp I use