Is it possible…

Leatherneck

Is it possible that once fired brass can have a smaller dimension than unfired brass? I shot a box of ammo today, Hornady Precision Hunter 150ELDX in my Remington 7mm-08 and when I got home I checked the shoulders with a SAC comparator and found the fired brass averaged about .002/.003 shorter than the loaded ammunition. The primers look like the are seated properly. The spent cartridge feels like it chambers a little easier as well. I understand that their is spring back in the brass as well. Could I be seeing spring back? I'm relatively new to the whole reloading thing but have read enough to make my head spin. I don't have the reamer print. It has a Kreiger barrel and was chambered by them as well. The rifle shoots sub 1/2 MOA with said ammo.

New brass is at it's smallest dimensions, both in diameter and length. This is often at or below SAAMI minimums and much less than chamber dimensions especially on a factory barrel.
Upon the first firing the brass diameter will first expand to the chamber body diameter. This can cause the case length to initially shorten. If additional pressure is available the case will then lengthen on the base to shoulder axis and subsequently "grow". If still more pressure remains the brass will flow past the shoulder and cause the neck length to increase. This is why case trimming may not be necessary until after several firings since the diameter and base to shoulder growth has already occurred.
So yes, once fired brass can be shorter than new brass. This is why caution is needed if adjusting the sizing die on only the first firing.

I will add that primers can alter headspace checks if new unfired primers in ammo is not seated below head, and spent primers with raised edges around the primer strike.
See if the new ammo has raised primers and go from there, all fired ones, de-prime and check. Assumption you're checking headspace as well as OAL of fired brass?