How heavy?

alldayhunter

I am relatively new to long range hunting. I am in the process of moving to Colorado and am looking forward hunting out west. i am wanting a rifle that is a good shooter for longer shots but is not too heavy to carry. Eventually i want to build a long range rifle for prone shooting but right now i want to build or buy a rifle that is a good medium. One that i can pack but is accurate to a reasonable long range. How light of rifle can I build and how far cna i look to be accurate. Thanks for all the help. I have learned a lot just by looking at this site. I have 2 actions to build on one short and one long. I am also trying to buy a savage 12bvss in 300 win mag to build a long range gun on. Right now i am looking at building my go to rifle. Thanks again.

First off you don't have to have a realy heavy rifle to be accurate , their are plenty of featherweight rifles that will make first and second round hit way out , the problem is that the thinner the barrel the faster it heats up and starts to affect groups. Anouth thing to look at is that most rounds considered for "long range" hunting have a reasonable amout of recoil and it gets worse with the weight of the rilfe is dropped. Alot of guys alos find it hard to hold a light gun steady.

I personaly don't want to carry a 16lb rifle around hunting unless I'm just going to one spot to set up and shoot from , I think that a 10lb rifle/scope is a good carry weight , that can be done with a regular long action a #5 conture barrel and a reasonable scope and ring setupwith a good composit stock.

What actions do you have and what critters at what ranges are you considering shooting them at? If its deer at 400yds that a short action in 243-308 will work great but if its Elk at 800yds then your gonna want a bit more power

On another note , every BVSS i have seen was a great shooter and that would make a great base to build a long range gun on