Hard to close bolt

Robby20

I'm pretty new to reloading. I've searched some but haven't found a fix yet. I have a Ruger M77 243 that I have decided to start reloading. I've some brass that I have shot plus some used brass found. Regardless which brass I try the bolt is hard to close. I made a few rounds using SMK 105 grain. At first I thought it was a case lenght issue. A few cases were over 2.045. But I've trimmed a few, no luck. I even tried an empty case with good dimensions, still hard to close. Any input is appreciated and sorry for the long post.

No tools to measure head space. I'm using an RCBS press with 243 full lenght sizing die. I thought it might be the bullet hitting the lands too but it does it with an empty case too (no primer or bullet)

That's good, it shows the brass is the culprit. Keep moving your sizer down, a bit at a time until the bolt will close with normal pressure.

You should have the Hornady gauge to measure the base to datum on the shoulder for accurate resizing to fit your chamber.

Lots of things could be wrong. Are you using the right shell holder? Same brand as sizing die? Proper shell holder? Are you setting the sizing die up per instructions? Where did your brass come from? Could be brass with overly thick necks. Are you putting a nice bevel on inside and outside of neck? Is it 243 win brass and not 260 /7mm/08 or 308 brass necked down?

Thanks dok7mm, that worked.and I will look into that Hornady gauge.
ShtrRdy, yes it closes easy without a round in the chamber and factory ammo has always worked well.
Okie man yes to all your questions. Half the brass I shot and the other half a bought from a friend or found at the range. They all say 243 on the bottom.