Fluting a new Krieger Barrel

mikeinlouisiana

I am about to order a new Krieger RVC 7mm blank for a new build. yes this is my first build. I wanted to get fluted by Krieger folks.

I have a buddy that is telling me it is a terrrible idea? He said it puts much stress on barrel and will mess with accuracy. He has some fluted barrels and they don't shoot as good as the one that are not fluted. He also said Krieger will only air guage before fluting not after.

I thought fluting made the barrel stiffer and less harmonics which helps accuracy.

Any advice from the pros? To Flute or not to Flute?

Thanks

Mike

If your buddy is correct, tell him to call Krieger and tell them they are effin up their own bbls prior to selling them.

Krieger won't flute a bbl once it is off the lathe. If you want flutes, get them, and if the rifle simply won't shoot, let Krieger know.

I don't see how cutting steel off the outside of a bbl hurts it when cutting the inside of the bore does not. How would your friend reconcile that?

I don't know what a 7mm RVC is but a fluted 7mm Krieger barrel will shoot fine. They won't flute a 7mm barrel smaller than a #6.

Krieger stress relieves the barrels after fluting. if you want fluted I say do it.

Yup! Probably even more significant to this issue is the Krieger single point cut rifling--at least according the the man himself, John Krieger (at 1:56):

Last edited by a moderator:
It's a popular shooting sports myth that fluting a barrel makes it stiffer. How could that possibly happen when you remove several strips of metal that made it as stiff as it was before fluting? What's stiffer, a floor with 2x6's stacked together side by side on edge or a floor with alternating 2x6's and 2x4's stacked the same way? Go figure that one out.