Designing a rifle, need help!

Thats better in size but pic quality sucks!

px837

px83m

px840

px848

Good Shooting!!

Kirby Allen(50)

yea i have a 7mm rum im going to have that one done when the barrel wears out but thanks for the advise im still new at the long range trying to learn as much as possible

I also contacted Dan Lilja when I was researching my 338 Kahn project and he told me flat out for a single shot 338-378 Wby, he woudl see not reason why the Rem 700 action would not perform safely.

As a repeater there really is not a good way to make the Rem 700 work with the big Wby or Rigby.

Here are the pics of a little better detail with my Barrel Bedding V-Block design. Most of these pics are of a 7" V-Block embedded into a Holland Signature Laminated stock. This block uses 2 bolts. The Kahn uses a 10" block with a 3 bolt mounting system.

u3k2e

This the V-Block engraving on the barrel.

u3k36

The bottom of the stock shows the only signs of anything different about this V-Block rifle compared to a conventionally bedded rifle.

u3k46

This view shows the mounting holes in the barrel as well as the solid bottom aluminum insert that in this case is epoxied into the action. In heavy recoiling rifles, this insert is steel bedded into the action.

u3k8i

This is the top view of the V-Block in the laminated stock. This is the only thing that touches teh barreled action in any way except the recoil lug rear surface.

u3k9e

The bolt nose on the Rem 700 is plenty large for the 338-378 round which is about 0.010" smaller in diameter then the Rigby. Still one needs to pay attention when machining to only remove enough to work properly and no more.

u3k9u

This view of the Kahn shows how far the bolt can be pulled back after the bolt stop has been modified. This adds nearly .500" to the bolt throat.

u3kae