Can inside necks be TO clean?

DartonJager

Am considering investing in a SS pin tumbler because except for the SS pins I can get the rest of the components for free. But I have read multiple postings here and other places claiming SS pins clean and remove the carbon 100% from the inside of the neck and that can affect your neck tension consistentcy and have an ill effect on your accuracy.

I have been reloading for at least 30 years and still have and use the same Lyman vibraiting brass cleaner using plane corn cobb treated with polish and have enjoyed great results. I was considering trying the SS pin wet cleaning to eliminate having to clean primer pockets, but if I am better off having some left over carbon on the inside of my case necks VS none please by all means someone tell me so before I invest and be regretful. My recent purchases of 2 NIB JM stamped Marlin 336C's are both MOA shooters with tumbled brass and would hate to see that accuracy suffer.

Thanks,
DJ/Art.

I use an ultrasonic cleaner and it removes all carbon from the necks also. I use Redding Imperial Dry Neck Lube. I just dip the tail of the bullet in it before seating. Sometimes I dip a neck brush in it and brush the inside of the necks before seating. Forester has a dry mica powder that seems to work well also. I sometimes even apply dry lubes with a Qtip.

Re: Can inside necks be TOO clean?

Too clean of case necks, without lubing the case neck prior to seating bullets will cause much different seating forces to seat the bullets, compared to case necks that aren't cleaned down to the bare, raw brass.