Browning Bedding Concerns

DreaminofMT6x6s

Ok I've been on here for a while and finally secured what I thought was a decent long range setup, Browning McMillan in 7mm R.E.M. Mag. When a gunsmith went to put a front rail on for my bipod he took shots of the bedding and this is what he found. Should be concerned? The Xbolt is known to be a reliable relatively accurate rifle out of the box and it isn't overly heavy either. But I don't know what to do now. Bedding material is extremely minimal and the stock is split at the pillar mounting location ***. Is this a standard thing? I'm just now getting into shooting so I'm not that experienced with this stuff. Thanks gang.

Attachments

• IMG_1669.jpg
    IMG_1669.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 96
  • IMG_1668.jpg
    IMG_1668.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 91
  • IMG_1666.jpg
    IMG_1666.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 92
I have some Browning Rifles Including an X Bolt and I've never seen anything like that. Can you exchange that stock for another from where you bought it? If not maybe give Browning North America a call and talk to a tech. rep.

Ok I've been on here for a while and finally secured what I thought was a decent long range setup, Browning McMillan in 7mm R.E.M. Mag. When a gunsmith went to put a front rail on for my bipod he took shots of the bedding and this is what he found. Should be concerned? The Xbolt is known to be a reliable relatively accurate rifle out of the box and it isn't overly heavy either. But I don't know what to do now. Bedding material is extremely minimal and the stock is split at the pillar mounting location ***. Is this a standard thing? I'm just now getting into shooting so I'm not that experienced with this stuff. Thanks gang.

It appears to me that the rear pillar was relieved ( ground ) to accept the magazine box. Not split. The pillar is for compression strength. True that its not as strong as is compared to un cut pillar. I'd shoot it before sending it back but call Browning first.