7mm RM Hornady die setup

Bran743

Howdy folks. I was setting up a set of Hornady FL reloading dies for my 7mm RM and I screwed the sizing die down so it touched the shell holder just before the handle on my press breaks over. I set the decapping pin and tried to size the first case (once fired Hornady) but to my surprise the case won't go all the way into the die. It stops with about 1/2" or so of the case sticking left sticking out of the die.

I setup a set of 204 dies and did not have this issue. I'm fairly new to reloading so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if it is a problem with the die.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks

-Brandon

Attachments

• 20150912_155645_resized.jpg
    20150912_155645_resized.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 74
  • 20150912_155705_resized.jpg
    20150912_155705_resized.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 92
I tried some brand new WIN Brass and it went all the way up. I'm guessing the problem lies within the chamber of my rifle. Unless I'm wrong there isn't really any way to fix it other than to just put a new barrel on it and have it re-chambered?

-Brandon

If your rifle is a shooter, the Larry Willis Collet Die will solve your problem and a lot cheaper than a rebarrel. It is made to reduce the lower 1/3 or so of belted magnum cases. I have used them on 7RM and 7STW for years and it never fails. One die does most all belted magnums and it has a case gauge on one end to check if your cases need resized at all. A super product and Larry is more than helpful.

Brandon, you are most welcome. I'm sure one of the other shooters would have got around to telling you about Larry's die. It is a very common problem with belted magnums and thousands of shooters owe Larry a big thank-you for his inventive mind. Good Luck, David