30 cal wildcat

Long Range

I'm trying to figure out how to build a big 30 cal to run the 230 berger hyb on a standard long action and mag feed it. I was planing on building a 300 win mag but don't think I'll achieve the velocity I would like to get them around 2900.

So I got to thinking about a 300 Rum but have decided the case is just a tad long. So what I have come up with is necking down 338 Rum case and trimming to 2.75 that would allow me to feed pretty well from a ai cip mag with the internal of 3.76 max prolly try to load around 3.75 over all coal. just to leave a little wiggle room.

I have no experience in necking down brass so I'm asking what would it take to do this. My thinking is just run a 300 Rum reamer down just a hair short like .090-.092 short check with a 338 Rum go gauge. And for sizing brass could I use a universal 30 cal sizing die, or shorten a 300 Rum fl sizing die or just use a 300 wsm die. I have no I have no idea what it takes to size brass down. Or would I need custom dies.

I would like to hear what y'all think about this or should I just stick with a 300 win mag I like the 300 norma but I already have custom action with a mag bolt face so that's what I'm gonna use.

Sounds like you're a perfect candidate for a .300 Ackley Improved Magnum... I love mine.

Forming brass is so simple. You simply load up some new .300 Wby brass and go shoot it. Out pops .300 Ackley brass. No special forming or extra steps during reloading.

Why not just go with the 300 Rum and have an extended mag box installed. I think that'll get you to right around 3.9 OAL.

I have a badger m5 with ai cip mags that I'm using for this gun. Just trying to find a case that will fit in 3.76 and feed reliable.

The 300 ackley.
Could it be loaded down to 3.75 over all coal and still acheive 2900+ with the 230 bergers. This gun will where a long barrel 28-30.

308/26-Nosler is of course my suggestion. I hope mine is ready when I get back from my trip.

Easy to neck up.