Why does this have to be so difficult??

Pbailey

I must be the most indecisive person I know! I have looked at just about every single "which caliber should I get" thread and "this caliber vs. this caliber" thread as well! I just need to make up my mind and go with it. With today's technology and parts, extreme accuracy is attainable with a plethora of calibers.

Basically, here is what it boils down to: This will be my first long range rifle. I am just getting into it, and learning all that I can. I just need to make up my mind, get off the computer and get onto the range!

I am building off of a stevens 200 long action, with one of the main drop-in barrels, Rifle-basix trigger, Stockade stock, and vortex scope. I live in Southern Oregon and my main target will be Blacktail Deer, and I do not see myself shooting at live targets over 800 yards, but I will be shooting at targets out to 1000. I also reload: but because I am pretty new to the game, It would be nice to have a caliber that is easy to reload for, and will not take a trip to the moon to find an accurate load for it.

With deer being my main target, I have basically decided that a 7mm bullet is what I want. A little more weight and less wind drift than a 6.5, but less recoil than a bigger 300.

Right now, the calibers that I am tossing around are (In order): 7mm remington Mag, 7STW, and 7WSM. I am not really that interested in a 7 ultra mag or a SAUM right now.

I really just want to buy the barrel, and start shooting! I know that this type of thread has been started before...but I had to. Theres tons of great guys and info around here, so please, please give any insight and info that you can!

Thank you very much!

With those choices I would throw put the STW, it's in the same class to me as the RUM.