which bedding compound?

I have bed well over 100 rifles in the past 35 years. For my current bedding process, that I've been using for the past 14 years, I use JB Weld "Steel" slow set, to install the aluminum pillars ONLY, a day or so before proceeding with the bedding job. I use Score-High Pro-bed 2000 mixed with 25% by volume Brownells atomized stainless steel powder, for the bedding. I buy the Pro-bed straight from the Score-High site, in two 16 oz kits at a time, one brown and one black. It is relatively thick, and stays in place well, produces an excellent bedding that is rock solid, extremely hard and highly resistant to compression. It's the best bedding material mix I've ever used, and I've used; Brownell's Acraglas (both the liquid and the gel), Brownell's Steel Bed Kit, Marine-Tex and Devcon 10110. When I find something better, I'll switch to that.

The Pro-bed 2000 comes with a wax based releasing agent that speads easily by finger and works excellent. It is much like clear shoe polish but, works better. The releasing agent is a little tough to remove from the action but, coat it with mineral spirits and let it sit for 5 minutes, and it will wipe right off.

DO NOT fully bed your lite barrel! Your bullet impact point will climb as the barrel heats up, more because of the barrel taper and heat expansion lengthwise against the fixed bedding, than the barrel diameter change due to heat expansion! NEVER bed a sporter weight barrel or liter, beyond the straight portion of the barrel in front of the receiver. The only barrels I ever bed beyond the receiver are the heaviest contour, very long match barrels, and only the straight cylinder portion just in front of the receiver, for no more than 2-1/2". If you don't bed that area with extremely heavy long barrels, they will usually sag and affect accuracy.

Best of luck with your bedding job. PM me if you wish to discuss my method in detail.
Kevin