What decoys work

I am new to preditor calling. I started out using hand calls and I wasn't having much luck. So I switched to an electronic call, but I am still having limited success. I hunt in southern Missouri (Ozark Mountains) so I have a lot of cover to contend with. So I want to try a decoy to help entice them out and was just wondering what has worked for others.

The best decoys are real live dogs.

Especially if they're trained right. The ones that are trained correctly will go out and make themselves visible to the coyotes, and then come back in to the shooter.......bringing coyotes in behind them. Big aggressive dogs are not the ticket, we dont' want them running the coyotes off, we want them bringing the coyotes in.

As far as regular decoys go, something that moves is much better than something stationary.

I have used the edge rabbit, the foxpro jack, and a feather on a stick.

So far the best one I have used was the feather on a stick. Hang it from the tree or bruch and let the wind play with it. it will also let you know what way your dogs are going to come in. Most of the time they will come in from the down wind side.

the Fox pro Jack works great also but have not had one jsut make a b-line for it yet. I have had them watch it and circle but that is it.

Thanks for the input everyone. I will have to give some of your suggestions a try.

When you setup to call do you go to your location looking for a specific type of preditor or has everyone found it better to keep the setup more generic?

The reason I ask is this. I was hunting under a full moon and I kept hearing movement in the brush. Despite all of my attempts to get the critter out it just wouldn't budge.