Varmint hunting caliber

younggun

Hey every one Im new to varmint hunting and im looking for a good caliber to get started with. I would like one with pretty good long range capability so as i start to reach farther the round will be more than capable of doing so. currently my max range is about 500yds but as i practice it gets farther and farther. im seeing some good things about the .243 win but really have no good base for it. I also saw the sps varmint on remingtons site and that definately is looking attractive, but it comes in all sorts of calibers.

Basically im looking for something to poke at prarie dogs and some coyotes with but who knows i might get gutsy and take it antelope hunting too :D

Im open to any suggestions but would preffer to keep it on a rem 700 action

Thanks so much everybody!

i have shot over 250 coyotes, and almost that many shot by calling companions. i like the .243.

Im gonna hijack my own thread on this one. Ive been doing research and ive come up with 3 possible varmint calibers that i would like to hear everyones opinions on: 22-250, .223, and .243. I realise i could use the .243 on deer and antelope, but i already have a .270 that i use for that purpose so this is going to be purely varmint hunting: pdogs, coyotes, jackrabbits ect. I do want to be able to hit them at extended ranges as the eastern plains of CO will give plenty of opportunities for that.

Any links or literature would be greatly appreciated :D

thanks so much

Buddy of mine made 3 1st shot kills on coyotes this last season at 785, 650, 535 yds. with his 243 AR-10. He's using the 87 V-Max which has a BC of .4. I also saw him kill a jackrabbit at 475 on the 2nd shot and a 470-yard coyote took a couple shots since we couldn't get an accurate range on it.

I always thought the 243/87 V-Max was a good ~600 yd. combination.