Twist Rate for 243 AI

601handryan

guys, i am planning a new rifle project. i am realy leaning towards the 243 AI. i plan on shooting the 105-115 grain bergers from this rifle. it will mainly be for target shooting with the occasional deer hunt. what is a good twist rate for these bullets? barrel groove selection? also, would there be any benefit of building this on a long action reciever?

I've heard 1:8 is the minimal twist for the 115 Bergers, and 1:7.5 is really needed. I've also heard of people being able to push them fast enough in a 1:8 in a 243AI to blow them up. So I don't know is say rachet rifling or something similar may allow you to shoot them faster or not; I have no experience personally with the bullet and am relaying 2nd/3rd hand information.

I went through all the options myself and decided on the 105 AMAX and 1:8 ratchet rifled Shilen. I started out wanting to shoot the 115s and changed my mind after doing the research.

Three of us built three different 6mms to shoot the 115 DTACs. A 6mm Dasher, 6 SLC and a 6mm-284. All were 1 in 7.5 twist 5R bartlein barrels. We had read extensively that a 7.5 twist was necessary to stabilize the 115. Unfortunately the bulk box of 115s we bought didn't shoot. The 6 dasher and 6 SLC shooters were 1000 BR guys and they did every tweak possible but found nothing they would shoot in competition. We all gave up on the 115s.

There was a great deal of information on the net regarding my choice of the 6mm-284 suggesting that the 7.5 twist would unravel the 115 Berger VLD. That left us with no 115s to shoot.

We all moved to the 107 Sierra MatchKing which shot well in all three rifles. So much for getting that faster twist.

Enter the 105 Berger hybrid with a BC that is higher than Berger's 115 VLD! (.547 vs .545)
The bullet has been launched up to a tad over 3500 fps from my 6mm-284 with no issues.