Temperature sensative loads

LaHunter

I have developed a very accurate load for my 7mm Rem mag. I am using 64.3 grains of IMR 4350 powder shooting 150 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip bullets at 3200 fps at 55 degrees F as per chrono set at 14 ft from muzzle.

Recently I was at the range with the same hand loads and the same set up, except the ambient temperature was 80 degrees F. I was seeing velocities of 3255 fps with the same chrono set at the same distance from the muzzle. Extreme spread was about 17 fps during this range session which is typical.

This is the first time I have fired this rifle with this ammo at a temp above 55-60 degrees F.

Will a 25 degree increase in temp usually result in a velocity gain like I am seeing with IMR 4350?

Would you consider these results to indicate IMR 4350 is temperature sensitive or not? I am fairly new to loading my own ammo so not sure what constitutes "temp sensitive powder".

I understand that it is an increase of only 1.7%, but it is 55 fps more. Accuracy was still fine, just want to understand what I am seeing.

Any thoughts and input are appreciated.

All powder is temperature sensitive some more than others. I develop all my hunting stuff in the spring and fall like now when the temps are within 20 degrees of what I hunt in. Most of the loads developed like this usually end up a couple grains below what Quickload deems dangerous so if I shoot them when its warm I don't need to worry about having a problem and if they shoot a little off I understand why.

One powder that I have fooled with that was pretty good whether hot or cold and accurate is H4831. Just could not get the velocity out of it that I was after.

You also have to understand the consumer chronographs are not perfect. I use the Ced M2 and at times I just shrug and ignore the data. Your real fps will become evident when you prove the come ups and make the corrections in your ballistic program.