Speer Grand Slam vs Nosler Accubond & Elk

Bob Ferguson

I am new to reloading and started to do some for an elk hunt in Dec. I haven't gone to the range yet, it's summer her in AZ with 110+ temps, to see how they will preform with my rifle, a 7MM RM.

I had been using a 160gr Grand Slam sold by HSM which are no longer available. It worked very well in my rifle. Several local folks suggest staying away from the Grand Slam, something about them being re-engineered.

I am looking for any input, comments as well as experiences of members who have used some of the bullets on large animals. How they perform, which you prefer and why? Thanks for your feedback!

I am new to reloading and started to do some for an elk hunt in Dec. I haven't gone to the range yet, it's summer her in AZ with 110+ temps, to see how they will preform with my rifle, a 7MM RM.

I had been using a 160gr Grand Slam sold by HSM which are no longer available. It worked very well in my rifle. Several local folks suggest staying away from the Grand Slam, something about them being re-engineered.

I am looking for any input, comments as well as experiences of members who have used some of the bullets on large animals. How they perform, which you prefer and why? Thanks for your feedback!
I would go with the accubond and not look back. Do a search on here about elk bullets and you'll see the number one response is accubond.
Nothing wrong with the grand slam and they were redesigned (I think in the 80's?).
GS are still tough bullets and will do the job but the accubond is much easier to work up a accurate load. I tried the 160 GS from a 280 Remington and a 7-08 and couldn't get them to group well enough to use.
Good luck with whichever you choose.

I would go with the accubond and not look back. Do a search on here about elk bullets and you'll see the number one response is accubond.
Nothing wrong with the grand slam and they were redesigned (I think in the 80's?).