Short range elk cartridge

Gray R

Hey everybody. I'm new to colorado so I'm having a first time elk hunt this fall. I have a 338 barrel blank and I'm wondering what cartridge for a max of 300 yards on broadside targets. And let me say that I have let a lot of game walk because a broadside didn't present itself so I will wait for the right shot on this one too. I know I don't need ultra mag performance at this range I just want to do it right before I move home. Thanks to all those with experience and let's hear it!

I have a 338-300 WSM built on a Winchester short action and a 24" pac-nor ultralight contour barrel. It's a perfect ultralight setup that is fast to draw and shoot in the thick forests. With a scope the rifle weighs in around 7.25 lbs.

I agree that you could go with a 338 win mag or a 338-06 and any of them will get the job done. I like that my 338wsm is built on a short action, so that's an advantage it has over the others. It will better the velocity of a 338-06, and come very very close to the 338 win mag.

Overall it has given excellent accuracy and is very efficient. I"ve shot a whole bunch of elk with it ranging from 30 yards out to beyond 600.

I shoot the 210 TTSX at ~2850 fps and the 225 Accubond at ~2775 for my accurate loads. I neck up 325wsm brass and shoot H4350 (or RL17 if I can't find H4350). I have shot a few elk with the 250 Accubond out of this rifle, but the recoil was a bit severe.

Yeah that'd be great but I have access to a 338-06 reamer so I'd rather do that than have to rent one. It certainly sounds interesting though! Is it just a straight neck up from the 325 brass?

Yeah that'd be great but I have access to a 338-06 reamer so I'd rather do that than have to rent one. It certainly sounds interesting though! Is it just a straight neck up from the 325 brass?

338-06 will be a great cartridge.