Same Load with a New Barrel?

Ingwe

Hello Fellas,
I have been reloading for several years now so I still have allot to learn which will be obvious after reading this post;)

Here it goes: I have a carefully worked-up load for my 7mm Rem Mag which is right at maximum but with no obvious signs of over pressure. I had a custom sizing die made and I still have ton's of fire-formed brass and loaded ammo for it too. I am however, getting to the point where I am going to soon need a new barrel. So here's my question: If I get the same make barrel, length, etc. with the same twist rate as well, can I still use this load in the new barrel or do I need to start from scratch again?:(

Whatdaya think??

If the load is not max you can try it but it is recommended that you reduce the load by at least a grain or two to be safe. Just load 2 or 3 with 1/2 grain difference and start low to see if you load will work in the new barrel.

You can even load 10 rounds for break in with the first load being 2 grains of powder less and increase in 1/2 grain increments. this way you can break the barrel in and at the same time work up to your old load safely. Stop shooting if you see any pressure signs.

Changing barrels is like changing bullets or powder, it may or may not effect the accuracy of the load. don't expect it to shoot the same with a new barrel and your tried and true load. If it does Great If it doesn't, you will have eliminated one load in the pursuit of accuracy and jot a good start on break-in

J E CUSTOM

Standard SAAMI chamber? Nothing different about the neck diameter or lead? If there is no change in the reamer back off as previously meantioned and work back up as you break in. If there are any changes you will want to back off 10-12% and play it safe. It's never socially acceptable to wear any part of your rifle on or in your face. Besides who wants to take a chance and cut a safety corner with a 'new' rifle