Load development with new barrel

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Texas Republic, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Texas Republic

    Texas Republic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    I just received a new barrel and was wondering if I should begin load development during the barrel break in process or wait until I get some rounds through it? Will it skew results any? It's for a savage 111 in 338 Lapua
     
  2. Lefty7mmstw

    Lefty7mmstw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,280
    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    It doesn't hurt to at least look at its preferences. One of the loads I shoot from my 25 wssm was the first three shots down the pipe after the factory proof. I believe my 338 win is the same way, but that was farther back time wise and though I know its loads were both shot on the first day out, I'm not sure if one was the "first".
     

  3. J E Custom

    J E Custom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004

    I don,t know why you couldn't but the results may be hidden.

    I find that during break in a barrel improves slightly and then settles in somewhere from 10 to 20
    rounds if it is a custom barrel., So I wait until that happens before starting load development to
    prevent missing a good load.

    I have had a few rifles love the load used for break in and stayed with it but this has been rare.

    If you have a pet load and plenty of them by all means use them. Just dont give up on them if
    they don,t shoot well in the beginning. Give them up to 20 shots to prove that the new barrel
    just doesent like them.

    Break in is more for improving the clean up and conditioning of the barrel for a more consistant
    SD and accuracy in my opinion.

    J E CUSTOM
     
  4. Texas Republic

    Texas Republic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    For the break in method, I was going to try the procedure outlined in the magpul precision shooting video.

    Clean after every shot 5 times.
    Clean after every 2 shots 5 times
    Clean after every 3 shots 5 times
    Clean after every 5 shots 5 times

    Total of 55 rounds.

    If copper no longer appears when cleaning, there is no need to shoot all 55 rounds. Once break in is complete, only carbon should be removed from barrel until accuracy suffers.

    Anyone use this method before? Any suggestions on a cleaner that takes out carbon and copper? I usually use hopps or Mpro7 because it takes out very little amount of copper when cleaning.
     
  5. Truc

    Truc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    842
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Best Benchrest shooter in the world Tony Boyer cleans after 20 rounds, While I don't do this especially w/ big rounds I go with 3 myself.
    Make sure you clean properly, you can damage a custom barrel if you don't use a bore guide, I use Sinclairs "O" ring for that cartridge and caliber and action, use a 1 piece cleaning rod like Dewey w/ the ball bearings in the handle (quality SS Rods ok) Brass ends and bronze brush w/ bronze core only. As far as cleaners go, everyone has their favorite. I use TM bore cleaner and Balistol oil. Doesn't stink up the house and my wife don't complain.
     
  6. Texas Republic

    Texas Republic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Ok. Guys. I have a couple follow up questions on the barrel issue. And its not actually a custom barrel. My Savage 111 338 Lapua was over-chambered, so Savage replaced the barrel. Yeah. Not good. But anyhow..here they are .

    I FINALLY bought myself a chrono and have done some research on how to use it as a useful reloading tool. The information I read seems to say that if you have a certain pet load that is very accurate, the only information of that load you really need to replicate your results is how fast that same exact bullet is moving down your barrel. This is mainly due to the node and vibration, etc.

    So in theory, you can switch brass, primers, powders, etc. and still have the same accurate results as long as all of those components togethor replicate the FPS the bullet is moving down the barrel. Am I right in this?

    Ok. My next part of this question is this....my pet load that I was using with my Savage 338 lapua BEFORE I had a new barrel installed by Savage shot my 300gr bullet at 2658 fps. Would replicating that FPS produce the same accuracy, or is that FPS out the window now that I have a new barrel on the rifle? I think I know the answer, but I am not sure if its the one I want to hear. lol.
     
  7. Lefty7mmstw

    Lefty7mmstw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,280
    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    In short, two barrels, two diffedent critters. You are going to roughly replicate the same fps when you get it to pressure. You are also going to use a similar powder besause you are running the same caliber and optimum powders will be similar no matter the barrel. But just because barrel A shoots a bullet at a certain fps at its "optimum accuracy" doesn't mean barrel B will do the same; it will likely be close, but don't try to replicate the old barrel with the new one. Let it be its own or you'll shoot her out before you get a good load.
    I'm having a bit of this problem with my new 7stw at present; I found out 1/2 of what I was shooting in my old rifle isn't optimum in the new rifle. I've wasted a few hundred rounds playing when I should have shot a few groups and torn any ammo down that didn't immediately perform.