??'s on Savage 116 6.5x284

I got the model 22 Phoenix. Sorry, not tech savvy enough for pics. Matte blue action, 26" stainless 8-twist bbl, black/red webbed stock w/ vented forearm. It came w/ a factory mounted Farrell 20 moa base. I don't know if this is a good base or not, but I looked them up and retail is $118. Nice bonus plus no sales tax in MT.

Nice choice. I ordered a M52 Excalibur w/ synthetic stock, 26 in stainless bbl, and stainless action at the beginning of Mar13. I was told 4-6 months. I am not a huge fan of the red webbing, but it is growing on me.

Bounty Hunter- The 6.5x284's I looked at this weekend were long action. The 116 FCSS? and the 111 LRH. Don't know about throating issues. That's the first I've heard of this, but I'm new to Savages. I do have a 16 sporter 243, that you can seat bullets way out on. I wasn't sure about the single shot Cooper at first, but it should be easier to find the perfect depth without having the mag constraints. Probably not an issue w/ a long action anyway.

Drift - There were two repeaters in 6.5 @ Scheels in Rapid City. 1 all black metal, green w/ black web stock. And 1 tan stock w/ stainless. I don't really care for the red/black either, but it's growing on me. I don't really like the looks of the vented forend either, but I guess it serves a purpose.

I have not seen a 6.5x284 in short action and the folks on savage websites claim they are all LA action as well. My savage is typical of most stock rifles and SAAMI chambers where the throat is long and seating to the lands is not practical for hunting. I am currently at .075 off and plan to go deeper for giggles soon to see if there is better accuracy node with the 140 vld.

Brent- One thing I found interesting on the ones like yours I viewed this weekend. They all had the plastic button, front of trigger guard bolt release, and the small bolt handle w/ the molded in checkering panel. I much prefer the way yours is configured.