Running on circles - 7 mm Rem Mag Reloading

M Jager

Need some help here as I am new to the 7 Rem Mag and having some trouble getting started.

Brass- as Norma brass doesn't seem to be available and Nosler brass seems hit or miss in terms of quality, I was thinking of going with Winchester and sorting. Am I wrong here?

Bullet - I was debating between the 162 Amax and the 180 Berger Hybrid but after running the numbers I can't really find an advantage to the Berger for under 1000 yard shooting. Obviously thats assuming the Amax shoots well in my rifle. Am I missing something?

Dies- Here I am just lost. I was thinking of just buying a Redding competition die set but I have read you need a collet style die for belted magnums. The more I read the more confused I get. Can somone in the know simplify this in terms of "buy this die and be happy".

Thanks in avdance. This is my first attempt a true long range rifle and while I am not looking to set the world a fire, I would like to do it right the first time.

Im using full length size RCBS dies, adjusted to necksize only, using retumbo powder, and accubonds and partition bullets in the 160gr. Was using federal brass, but switched to winchester brass. Ive had decent luck with it so far.

My dad's rig is all factory Rem brass, He uses FL RCBS dies. They have always worked for us, no problems. The Redding FL bushing dies are nice. I only have one, it is my most recent die I have bought. My dad is shooting 162 Amax @ 2940ish with H1000, ES in the teens. Less than 1/2 MOA out to 1k. It is one of the best shooting rigs we have, and it was "accurized" by a family friend 20 years ago. First round hits on baseball size targets out to 945 so far. Everytime I shoot it I'm more impressed.