Rnd edge 2000

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by padd54, May 3, 2009.

1. padd54

padd54 Well-Known Member

Greetings, I am new at this and would like opinions on a rifle I am thinking of buying.
    I have always used .270win for deer and elk, usually within 200yrds, with good success.
    Now I want to try my hand at long range hunting.
    Here is the rifle I am thinking of buying;
    RND Edge - Percision Rifles
    Please give me your thoughts.
    Thanks.

2. foreign

foreign Well-Known Member

was wondering on why you wanted a semi auto. ive always been under the impression bolt guns are more accurate in general. maybe cheeper 2.

3. padd54

padd54 Well-Known Member

Well, I will also use it as a Home Defense Weapon, it has a 10rd mag, as well as hunting large game.
    As far a cost, I am looking at just under $5k with a 30" barrel and all the accessories except the pistol grip rest.

4. BH Hunter

BH Hunter Well-Known Member

That would be quite a home defensive gun w/ 30" tube. Would you be better off w/ your 870 stuffed w/ your pheasant load?

5. LostInSpace278

LostInSpace278 Well-Known Member

Hand guns and shotguns are for home defense. The 1 your looking at is more for suppressive fire. gun)If I was dropping $5000 I would go custume or semi custom with a Nightforce scope, especially since your wanting to reach out and touch something. Just my opinion though. I really like the looks of the RND 2000, just can't justify the $$$.

6. padd54

padd54 Well-Known Member

Yea, I use handguns for close up work, but my home starts out at the front gate which is fair piece out. :D

The RND is completely custom and milled on site except the trigger. It is a truly unique weapon. I am thinking of making a trip out to test fire his offerings before I make a commitment.

I was hoping that someone here had some experience with his rifles.