Rifle choices

gpo1956

Hello guys. This is my first post and I'm looking for feedback on some rifles. I've been shooting for over 45 years. However, I've been out of hunting rifles for 8-10 years. My main interests are higher end 1911s and AR type rifles. However, for the last two years I've been going to South Texas to a friends high fence ranch and helping him cull his herd. Shots can be anywhere from 25 yards to 500 yards. I've decided on a 7MM-08 or the 260 Remington. I'm looking at one of the following three rifles. I will probably be changing to a Bell and Carlson Medallion stock replacement and will be mounting Zeiss Conquest HD5 2-10x42 scope that I already have. If need be I can also replace the trigger. I'm looking at the Remington 700 PSP, the Weatherby Vanguard II or the Tikka T3, all in the blue/black finish. Which would you guys vote for? Also, would it be worthwhile to move up to the Browning XBolt Stalker? This will be for 8-10 days of hunting and general recreational shooting during the year. I do handload by the way. Do any of these stand out from the rest?

For LR culling to 500 yards, used 8-10 days a year. I would get a Savage Long Range Hunter in 6.5 Creedmoor. The best LR shooter in the bunch.

The 6.5cm is going to be hard to beat in a short action. If you go that route I'd buy a box of factory ammo, you might be surprised by the accuracy. If weight is an issue I think they offer it in a predator platform also.

Otherwise of the rifles you listed I would take a long hard look at the tikkas.

If it was me, it would be a no brainer. With the choices given, I would go with the Browning. It has the nicest fit and finish of all listed and is no slouch in the accuracy department.

Is this the one you guys are talking about? Savage 11LRH 6.5" CREED HF $951.00 SHIPS FREE

Its a little long and heavy for what I'm wanting. Is there a more sporter version you would recommend?