ReSizing Question

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by mconwa951, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. mconwa951

    mconwa951 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Hey guys been awhile since I have been on here. I just finished building a new 300wsm and am getting ready to build a few loads for it. I have loaded a little in the past with some success but by no means an expert hence my question.

    So here it is I set up my dies according to the instructions as usual. Spun it down to the shell holder then went a 1/4 turn more and started resizing. I checked one of the empty cases in the chamber and it closes just fine no pressure needed or anything like that however when I go to pull the bolt back it is a little sticky and takes a tap or two nothing major but I am sure something isn't right. I checked with a mic and the only difference I can see is way in the back by the rim I get a reading on factory ammo of .547 and on my resized casing I get .553. Is this what is doing it and if so how do I correct doesn't seem like the FL sizing die even goes down that far.

    thanks in advance for any help you can give
     
  2. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,267
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I'm not a FL sizing type reloader, and I would never size cases based on written instructions. They'll help you there.

    But I wonder about your extraction.
    Do you get full bolt turn on opening -and then have to pull the case from the chamber?
    Or does the case seem to pop free just near the top of bolt turn?
     

  3. mconwa951

    mconwa951 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Getting full rotation everything feels normal just takes a lil extra pull or tap on the bolt handle to get it out and the extractor pulls it out not like needing to punch it out of chamber or anything
     
  4. Bart B

    Bart B Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,483
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    That .553" diameter on a fired case that had .547" diameter when new concerns me. That's a .006" increase in diameter. Was it measured on the case rim behind the extractor groove or in front of that groove on the case body?

    What load are you using?

    Here's the cartridge spec'd dimensions:

    http://www.saami.org/PubResources/CC_Drawings/Rifle/300 Winchester Short Magnum.pdf

    Try blackening the entire back end of a reloaded case with a black marker, then chamber and extract it. Look for shiny spots or scrapes and scratches where the case interfered with the rifle parts. That'll show you where something's happening that might be bad. Post your results; pictures would be great.

    I've been full length sizing all my cases for decades. My match rifles shooting such stuff do as well as long range benchrest rigs, so I see nothing bad about doing so. While some adamantly object to even trying such sizing ways doing it how many people win matches and set records full length sizing their fired cases, there is more than one way to eat pie, too, and it'll taste perfect to all of them.

    There's no problem following a die set's included instructions as long as one realizes they may not produce the most accurate ammo nor longest case life.
     
  5. mconwa951

    mconwa951 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    The measurement was taken just above the rim where the .5550 measurement is taken in the saami specs so it seems to be within tolerance how ever when I blacken the case with a sharpie this it where I am getting a very faint rub mark. It's not much but this is where it is making contact. It may be important to note this is once fired brass from a different rifle not the one I am loading for
     
  6. Bart B

    Bart B Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,483
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    That rub mark probably indicates the case was ovesize for your rifle's chamber and your die doesn't size it back down enough.

    Sizing dies have tolerances. Your's may be at the big end of specs.
     
  7. varmintH8R

    varmintH8R Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,123
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Can you give some specifics on the brass you are using? Make, times fired, fired in same rifle you are loading it for, etc?
     
  8. mconwa951

    mconwa951 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    I am using once fired brass from federal fusion ammo I have also tried once fired brass from nosler and hsm and am having the same issue with all makes of brass. I have tried both rcbs dies and Lee dies same issue. Am I setting them wrong? I have tried with brass fired in this rifle and another rifle I used to own with same result
     
  9. thatguyshm

    thatguyshm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    I full length size most of my brass. So the factory ammo is sliding in perfectly? Have you mic'd the once fired before resizing? Have you tried it in the chamber before resizing? I usually set my die all the way down to the shell holder than back it off about 1/32 of a turn. Then I will put imperial sizing wax on a case, run it through so that I can get a full stroke with the ram. When it comes out, I check to see how far down neck the wax was affected by the resizing. I want it close to the shoulder but not all the way to it.

    I guess I would be mic'ing every part of the once fired before and after resizing and seeing if perhaps you are seating the die too far down. Almost sounds like its squishing the brass slightly. The only thing I can say though, is that I would expect right behind the shoulder to bulge, not near the rim.

    Just my .02 cent...

    Seth
     
  10. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,267
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    What's the history on this gun & barrel?
     
  11. TOM H

    TOM H Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,113
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    I read one of your earlier post about your rifle before replacing the barrel. I mike my new 300WSM brass same spot you did and have .547 same as you I'm not up on the Savage rifles or their replacement barrels or any of their chambers as I much prefer having gunsmith do all the work on something like Rem/Win action

    I use Wilson seater and neck die and FL sizing use a body and my body die sizes case for my chamber. After 3/4 firing I FL size. I reload for my varmint partner Tikka T-3 in 300wsm and on his fired brass I uses RCBS Small Base sizer in 300WSM and that die will size those cases to fit my chamber also and they just drop in and bolt closes real nice. that rifles never had a factory rd fired in it and fired case mikes 5.56

    You might want to call Shilen and see what they say and your sized case should be around .550/.499 other choice Mikecr uses JLC might want to get # from Mike and give him a call send few fired cases fit a die to your chamber.
     
  12. mconwa951

    mconwa951 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Ok so ill answer a few of the questions to try and get to bottom of this. It is a new benchmark barrel installed on a savage model 11. The casings I am having issues with were fired out of the old barrel and are once fired factory ammo casings. I checked the once fired casing out of the new barrel and they actually fit right back in and function normally without sizing.

    I blackend the casings out of the old barrel and the only place they are hanging up is right above the rim where I am getting the .554 measurement and am afraid to shoot these again. They have just a slight catch now but am afraid they will really stick badly upon another firing.

    These casings were sticking and hard to get out of the factory barrel when they were fired and some even blew out the primer. which is really weird since it was factory ammo. Is this just a case of a bad chamber that messed the brass up to the point it can not be saved?

    I am getting pretty frustrated all I want to do is load up some ammo and go shoot.
     
  13. varmintH8R

    varmintH8R Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,123
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Interesting! I had a 338 Lapua built (also with a Benchmark Barrel, not that it matters). I had an LRH member send me a once fired casing to fire form and rap for an OAL gauge. The brass would not chamber in my rifle. Turns out it was originally fired in a Savage. The area near the case head (too far down to size) miked much larger than unfired brass. Sounds like you may have a similar issue. Get some virgin brass and you should be good to go.
     
  14. thatguyshm

    thatguyshm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Have you sized any once fired brass from the new barrel/chamber that you said slid in easy? If you can size it and it still fits and closes easily, then you just have to get rid of the old brass. If it still is an issue then you can start looking closer at your resizing die.