remington 700 adl .270

far50shooter

I have had this rifle in my family since i was a little boy. I am 38 now, I am just getting in to long range shooting. I have killed 10 deer or so with the rifle in the iron sights. I want to buy a scope and try to learn how to shhot long range.
1. how far is a .270 effiictive.
2. what power scope is best matched with the best round a .270 can shoot.
3 what is the best bullet I can buy for a factory .270 700 remington.
4 what is the best inexpensive scope that will be good for a beginer.
5 Where on this forum can i learn the bacisic of how to use a scope and what all of the terms such as moa, mins, windage, clicks mean in laymans terms and how it allpys to long range shooting. I am a private pilot so i understand enviormental condition terms, Barometric pressure . density altitude, and so forth.
I want to learn how to shoot with scopes, because I am building a 50 bmg rifle and really want to have a good understanding on what I am doing when rounds cost $4.00 each. Thanks for any information Tom

1. That all depends on the shooter, conditions and the intended target. 600+ yards is doable if the rifle shooter tight enough and the shooter does his part.

2. What is your expected shooting distance? Not just your long shots but your short?

3. Whatever shoots the best out of your gun. The newest baddest bullet out on the market just might not shoot well for you. If you can't hit the target the bullet can't kill it.

4. Leupold, Burris, Nikkon all have quality scopes that will do what you want. As to the series, it's limited by your budget... Optics are one of the most important parts of the long range shooting equations and one that should not be shortcut.

5. The Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics.

Before you even pull the trigger on your .50 make sure you can shoot out to 1,000 with consistency. If your getting serious about Long range shooting especially now that you bring a .50 into the equation I would consider hand loading.

Tom,