REM. 40XB in 300 Win. good or bad

JWS

I am just getting started in longrange shooting. I've been considering the rem. 40xb chambered in 300 win. is this a good choice to start with? Any input would be great!! :rolleyes:

JWS - welcome to the Forum. You've got to the right place to answer questions like this one.

40XB in 300win mag. Do you have much rifle shooting experience? if not, I would not really recommend the magnums to begin with. Better to start with a bit more mild recoil.

40XB any particular reason this model piques your interest? It's a nice rifle, but you can do pretty well with a different model Rem700 that would probably shoot just as well and be less expensive.

Give us some more information and we will be able to help you further...
  • Shooting experience?
  • Intended use for rifle - big game hunting? targets/varmints? tactical? all of these disciplines?
  • At what range do you expect to engage your various 'targets'?
  • Budget?

ALL my mags have muzzle brake. 40 xb -good choice; add a break. there are other good choices. a sendero. a rem 700 with a krieger barrel are good. the 300 wm is the cal the usamu uses for 1000 yard competion.

I started shooting high power competition with a 40 X range master so I am a little biased.

The rifle was/is a 308 and it has served me well for almost 50 years.

It has a history that is unsual and had won many local and state matches.

The rifle never let me down and has more than 23,000 rounds down the tube and will still
shoot 1/2 MOA (with Iron sites).

Remington did it right with this one.

The 300 win mag is a great round for 1,000 yard shooting/competition or hunting and in a 40x
it will be hard to beat for a factory rifle.

It has all good stuff,turned receiver,good barrel(Mine has a Hart from the factory) a very good
fully adjustable trigger(Can be adjusted without removing the stock.) and a good stock for
bedding (If needed).

As I said I'm biased, but IMO you can't go wrong.

J E CUSTOM