Problems on the range..

kacerrob

Today, I headed out to my local 100 yard range (wish it were longer) to try out my new Kimber Montana. I loaded up some 140 ttsx barnes in new 280 AI Nosler cases and a ladder of 160 accubonds in once shot cases (not in my gun). The new cases chambered just fine but I had a problem with closing the bolt with the once fired cases. During prep, I trimmed and ran them through my full length sizing die and not sure where I went wrong. I am new to reloading.

Thanks for you comments.

Robert

I use Hornady One Shot and let it dry completely. If you partially size a case it usually will not go back into the chamber. Once I get this then I turn the full length sizer down no more than a tenth of a turn until the action closes with ease. Then I try a few cases to make sure it is good to go. Also I anneal after a few firings. If I don't then some will go into the chamber and others will not. Annealing solves this.

I'll take a stab at this, but you should know that there are many more knowledgeable people on this forum whose input should be considered with more confidence.

I can think of three possible causes for your bolt closing problems with once fired, full length resized brass.

1. It is possible that your full length sizing die bottoms out before you effectively bump the shoulder back. This scenario would size the neck and body, but your brass shoulder could contact the corresponding chamber shoulder prior to fully camming the bolt closed. If this is the case, pardon the pun, the shoulder area of your smoked case should be cleaned by the chamber.

This hypothesis could be tested qualitatively by inserting a resized and "smoked" case into your action to note the interference positions. Please, consider that you may have to repeat such tests cleaning the chamber between tests to gain confidence in your results