Opening up a barrel channel

hemiford

How do you folks do it ?

Curved wood chisels ?
Sandpaper wrapped around the barrel ?
A ball mill cutter in a drill press ?
Round rasps ?
Have someone else do it ?

I am real olde and have probably done over a hundred stocks for myself & others - free - because I am not a pro - but I served as a gofer for a well-known rifle maker & learned some stuff.

This is the Gunline tool - should be available at Brownells. Multiple hardened steel disks separated with rubber washers to present a nice sharp corner to wood & other stuff. With wood, best to work with grain. 1/2 inch works real good.

Got a grinder, diamond hone, and an old file - take the file & grind a round end, tune it up with diamond hone. Works OK for small areas & amounts.

Scraping if done correctly results in nice smooth level surfaces.

Look - it's JB Weld steel.

IMG_1870.JPG

The GunLine scraper outer will work for most stock materials, like wood, laminated wood, plastics, fiberglass/plastics, carbon fibers. Hardened steel disks with pointy sharp corners. Disks separated by rubber washers that allow disk corners to flex & bite into surface. Never tried it on aluminum, might work on removing small amounts but would dull tool quick.

Scraping with grain makes for a smooth level surface & is much faster than sanding, like removal of 1/8 of wood.

I have several scrapers that I made from files, and I use them for tight places & detail work. They don't look as nice as the Jerry Fisher scrapers but are cheaper & sturdy. A bench grinder & diamond stone will make these. If no barrel channel, like flat, drawing a line thru the middle of work then carefully drilling out wood with a line of holes carefully not too deep, then round wood rasp, then scraping makes for the fastest with hand tools.

Last edited:
How do you folks do it ?

Curved wood chisels ?
Sandpaper wrapped around the barrel ?
A ball mill cutter in a drill press ?
Round rasps ?
Have someone else do it ?