Night force with 0 stop

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by jeff 300, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Does any one run two zero's with there zero stop scopes. I zero my scope at 100 then set the zero stop. then set my 0 line on the turret as my 500 yard O. That way i have two o's one with the o stop and one with the turret. Does this make sence?????
     
  2. Broz

    Broz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,637
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    If I am following you correctly. All the way down is 100 yard zero. Then the actual "0" diget on the turret you have set at 500 yards, correct? What does this gain you? And wouldn't that get confusing for a 700 yards shot when your program or chart said to dial up , like 10.5 moa? As now you could not start at zero and count up.

    Jeff
     

  3. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    That's right what that does for me is most of my shots r from 500 n on out on our ranch. but when i need a 100 all i have to do is turn it till it stops and i'm good . For as the program goes i have my programs sight in zero distance set at 500 so it works the same as if it was set at a 100. What it does for me is a lot less turning to get me where i need to be most of the time its just quicker.
     
  4. Broz

    Broz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,637
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    I see what you are doing, but the difference between a 400 yard shot and a 500 yard shot can be 2.5 to3 moa. That is about 10" or so, what do you do for a 40o yard shot?

    Jeff
     
  5. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    my program shows my MOA drop both +/- so all i have to is look at my drop and turn it 2MOA's backwards. its really ease instead of having to turn 8.250 for a 400 i just turn 2 moa. 95% of my shots r really close to if not over 500+/-. so this way I'm close to the right MOA and still have a 100 Zero. plus any thing under 500 even 2 moas is only 10" i can just hold off if need be. Just Some thing i tried and like how i work.

    I just wish there where more scopes with a zero stop out there
     
  6. Broz

    Broz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,637
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Well it sounds like you have your system figured out and it works for you. Let us know how it does in your future hunts.

    Jeff
     
  7. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    i just started doing this once i got the zero stop scope but for the ranch it woks good i dont know how it would work out west but it should if it work here. Who know im going try it for a while and see how it goes