New to long range

woodscandg

Hello my name is Chad, I am a deployed soldier looking to get started in longe range. I have a rem 700 sps in .300 wsm with a leupold 4.5-14x50 vx-3. Looking to shoot no further than 500 yards. Hunting Oklahoma whitetail. Will this equipment get the job done and what kind of factory ammo would you reccomend. Also looking at replacing trigger. Was looking at the timney and the jewell. Any thoughts?

Chad

You are good to go you have a great rig to start off with. Do you handload? If not no worries. What you will have to do is buy a good selection of factory ammo and try the diffrent brands to see which one shoots better in your rifle.

I would sent the scope back to the leupold custom shop and have them install M1 turrets.

If you want a new trigger listen up go to BROWNELLS and send them an e-mail asking them to walk you through the Military/ Law enforcment discount. It will regester you in there data base and you will get a discount IT IS WORTH IT!

Keep your head down
SSG Jon

SSG Jon, thank you for the advice. How much do they charge for turrets? As far as the trigger, any advice on brand or style? Not to worried about price, just quality. The factory trigger is terrible. Would love to handload but not sure where to start! Always loved weapons but now taking it seriously, wanting to take as many armorer courses as I can. Again thank you for your help, SPC Woods, Chad

Hello and welcome. Both triggers would be good, but the Jewel gives you much more adjustment. For a field rifle you may not want to go under 2 lbs for your trigger pull anyway so the Timeny may be what you are looking for. Jewel triggers will adjust down to a couple ounces and that is geared more for your benchrest shooting.

I shoot a WSM as well, admittedly I haven't had the opportunity to take game farther than 350 yet, but if conditions are good and the opportunity presents itself, I'd feel comfortable taking white tail out past 800.