New Rifle for whitetail

Dan1942

Ok I am new to long range hunting and I am looking at purchasing a new rifle. I currently shoot a 270 caliber for deer and am thinking I would like to get into long range shooting for both hunting and target shooting. I am trying to decide what my best option would be for caliber , rifle, and scope. I would like to stay at approx. $3,000 or below if possible. I saw quite a few rifles in a 6.5CM would that work for whitetail deer? The longest possible shots I have where I hunt would 500yrds. Besides the hunting I would like something that would do well at the Range and fun to shoot so I can spend a lot of time learning how to shoot at longer distances.
Thanks in advice for any help or insight I appreciate your time!
Dan

just deer. a remington long range in 25-06. or a remington 5-r in 308. if weight is not a concern a savage lrp in 260.

In the .270 you have a suitable cartridge. I'd be curious to hear which rifle, and scope you're using, and how it shoots as is.

I'm always up for a new rifle/scope, and don't need a reason, so I get changing just because.

3 Grand leaves a lot of options open for you. I would look at a Remington 700 Long range, 5R, or sendero. Savage makes some nice rifles for an excellent price, as well as sako/tikka. Anything from .260 Rem on up will satisfy your 500 yard criteria. Whatever is left over from your 3 grand I would then buy nice optics and a reloading kit to get you where you need to be.