Looking for a new rifle

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by KRob, Oct 5, 2004.

1. KRob

KRob Well-Known Member

I stumbled upon this site and you guys seem to know what your talking about so i thought i ask what you guys thought.
    I recently went Deer Hunting for the first time. I got very luck and got my first deer on the first day. I used a rifle i purchesed at the bigginig of this summer for Varmint Hunting (Savage in 223). The rifle did the job but it was more of a lucky shot.
    My question is what would you folks recomande for a hunting rifle that could be used for deer and up but mainly deer. I would be looking for something that did not cost a arm and a leg since i am a poor college student going into the Army after graduation.

2. kmassaro

kmassaro Well-Known Member

If you're on the cheap, get a New England Firearms single shot in 270 or 30-06. About $180 new. Put a Bushnell trophy scope on it, or a Banner for even less $$$.

Learn to hit with the first shot. It will kill anything in the lower 48 with aplomb. You'll learn that there are refinements that you'll like, but a good hunter will do very well with just that basic rifle.

Good luck. You'll upgrade over time, but that will serve you well for years.

If you have more $$$, there are a lot of fairly inexpensive rifles that you can upgrade over time...Remington and Savage are both excellent.

Welcome to the world of hunting.

3. Pahunter

Pahunter Well-Known Member

Savage rifles seem to be very accurate and reasonably priced too. If I was in the market for a budget rifle id be using for deer i would go with a savage. The NEF would be fine too. Are you gonna being using it for long range or just normal deer hunting(300 yards or less, IMO)?

4. Pahunter

Oh yeah almost forgot about caliber. The 30-06 or .270 are great deer cartridges. If you want a little more power you might wanna check out the WSM's.

5. KRob

KRob Well-Known Member