New Hand loader

RCrem700

I'm pretty new to long range shooting, and up till now I have just been practicing with factory loads.I want to start hand loading for my 7 rem mag, but I really have no idea where to start. It seems like pretty much every company sells kind of an entry level kit. Wuold one of those be a good place to Start? or would I be better off buying everything seperate?How much do I really need to get started? Thanks for your help.

RCrem 700

I started loading back in the early 1960's (under my dad's supervison). He had a Lyman 310 tool. It was like a pair of pliers that you screw a die into. One die for decap/resize, one for expanding, one for priming and one for bullet seating. He also had a cheapie balance beam scale for weighing the powder. We didn't know about (or at least ignored) case length/trimming. We were hunters and didn't shoot all that much so we got away with that. It turns out that there was a lot we didn't know.

I would recommend that you read the excellent book "Modern Reloading" by Richard Lee (the guy who started Lee Precision). After you have read the book you will have a much better understanding of how to proceed for the kind of reloading you want to do. I load for accuracy where some load for volume.

When I got tired of the Lyman 310 tool, I bought an RCBS Rockchucker. RCBS equipment isn't the fanciest but it works and is easy to find in stock most everywhere - but though it works for me, it may not be the best for you.

In summary, get educated then buy the equipment. (I would not buy a reloading kit as kits don't have the best of everything which you can get if you buy individual pieces.)