Need some advice

Titaniumman

I'm new to the long range game (beyond 300 yds anyway). I have hunted for years with a Browning Safari II BAR in .300 Win and have a fairly new Mod 70 Winchester Stealth in .270. I'm looking at a Remington 700 Long Range in either .300 Win or 7mm Rem Mag. Purpose is hunting elk in the open eastern Montana region. I don't have the $$$ to buy a custom gun but over time could upgrade this one. I'm thinking this rifle is a good place to start? Thoughts? Opinions? Recommendations? Thanks!

That will be a fine place to start , either the 7 RM or WM will serve you well. Best advice I can offer is start reloading if you don't already and spend as much as you possibly can only a good optic . Don't be afraid to pick up a used scope, it can be a great way to get into a high end optic without paying through the nose for a new one .

I'm new to the long range game (beyond 300 yds anyway). I have hunted for years with a Browning Safari II BAR in .300 Win and have a fairly new Mod 70 Winchester Stealth in .270. I'm looking at a Remington 700 Long Range in either .300 Win or 7mm Rem Mag. Purpose is hunting elk in the open eastern Montana region. I don't have the $$$ to buy a custom gun but over time could upgrade this one. I'm thinking this rifle is a good place to start? Thoughts? Opinions? Recommendations? Thanks!
I recently bought .260 Rem's in both the Ruger Hawkeye FTW and Remington Gen II 5R. They are both shooting exceptionally well, well under 1MOA with factory ammo.

Both of those rifles are also available in .300wm

https://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog...+Gen2+Model+700+5R+.300+Winchester+Magnum+24"

https://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog...s_id/19732/Ruger+47146+Hawkeye+FTW+Hunter,+BA

The Ruger is also available in 7mm RM.

The Ruger is a fair bit lighter than the Remington so if you are planning to pack it a long ways that's worth considering.