Need help with my first long range rifle and caliber

giannid

I've been shooting and hunting for many years and have finally decided to put together a long range big game/target gun. In my collection of guns I own a few slug guns including a savage bolt action slug gun, savage smokeless muzzleloader, Ar 15, Fal, and a savage model 12 223. I'm not new to shooting and shoot good groups out to 300 yards some of my guns. I live in a shotgun/ muzzleloader only state(ohio) for whitetail so never got into the long range rifle game. Was thinking of getting a 308 since I'm already set up to reload with it for my FAL but seems like it's not the caliber of choice. I'd like to put together a gun I can go out west and hunt elk and other big game with. I'm a little recoil sensitive so I'm not sure on the magnum cartridges like 7mm or 300 mag and I'm not sure there's a purpose for them. Was looking at the 6.5 creedmoor or 260. Will these serve my needs for whatever I want to hunt in North America within reason? I already have a scope I picked up for the new rifle a Vortex Viper PST 4-16x50 FFP from a friend. Also looking for a rifle to buy in my new caliber. I've always had good luck with savage rifles and was thinking a long range hunter 11/111. I'd like to keep the rifle at about $1000 give or take a few. Or would I be better off buying another savage or a used action and having it rebarreled? I have access to shoot to 600 yard range and 1000 if I drive awhile. Obviously don't think I'd be shooting at anything that far except paper but it would be nice to punch holes in paper or steel targets at that distance. Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to the whole long range shooting game.

Between the two I'd go 260 the ability to shoot the 140 grain vld and a super all around hunting rifle. We run a ton of 260's from match work to hunting and they all perform great and do the intended job really well.