Need help with finding a rifle.

cap06040

Hello everyone,

I am new to the long range hunting scene but very interested. I need some input on rifles that are good to start with but still have exceptional quality and accuracy. I ran into the Savage model 11 FNS, and 11 FCNS, and also looking at the Remington 700 SPS varmint all in .308. I am not looking to shoot over 600 yards, I am just learning. I would love some help and guidance in this choice.

Thank You

-C.J. Plante-

Cap - Although the Savages are nice rifles, I personally lean towards the Remingtons because that's what I have. Also, everyone makes aftermarket parts for the Rem700 and all gunsmiths will work on them.

The Rem700 SPS Varmint in 308 is a great choice for a first rifle. Although you only plan to shoot 600 for now, the 308 is certainly capable of shooting 1000 yards.

Once you have the rifle, I would encourage you to do a few things to maximize the accuracy (this is pretty much true of any rifle, not just Remington)....

1. trigger
2. stock
3. bedding
4. recrown

My nephew's rifle went through the same transformation that I'm suggesting you do...

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f53/nephews-transformed-rifle-53634/

Similarly, my entry into LRH was with the Rem700 SPS Varmint in 308.

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f53/my-308-1k-rifle-evolution-continues-43510/

After shooting the rifle for a while, I used the action to go all-custom!

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f53/my-260-mcr-59628/

Hope that answers some of your questions.

trebark,