Max COAL questions

xxtavixx

hello everyone,

I was hoping to get some input on a few questions, after hours of looking at various threads and some semi conflicting one another I am in some ways more confused than when I started.

I'm new to reloading. I decided yesterday to load up some rounds for my 270 using 130g Nosler Partitions. I wanted to try to see if the gun liked the powders I have sitting around not being used for anything else so I loaded up some IMR 4895, IMR 4350 and some RL22 (which I bought to try in the 7mag). I set my dies up and noticed there was a little variation in the over all lengh. Nosler COAL max was 3.340, which is where I set my die up.

Since this was my first time loading for the 270 I checked every round that was produced and I noticed some would end up at 3.34, and some would be at 3.32 or 3.33. I read a few threads and discovered that the way I have been measuring COAL is not correct...who'd have thunk that measuring the total length would not be the "cartridge over all length".

A buddy loaded some with his 30/30 and I noticed the same variation, but to a larger degree. Set up after crimping to be at 2.550 (which was what was called for in the book) the cannelure was barely in the case, so we set them a bit deeper. Some would end up a total length of 2.440, and one came out around 2.420. I imagine that part of this may be due to the variation in the bullets, since he using a much less reputable bullet.

So now I am nervous. Am I just being ridiculous in lieu of being newer to reloading, or should I buy a COAL measuring tool and see where they end up?

Thanks for any help/advice!