Mag primers in non-mag cartridges?

D.P.

Any thoughts on using magnum primers in non-mag cartridges

I used them in a .257 Roberts with a slower powder and had excelent results. Nothing seemed to work until I tried this combo.

Mag primers can raise pressure in non-mag cases. No hard & fast rule, but working up loads over a chronograph will tell you the truth. Changing primers (different brands & mag & non-mag)can cause velocities and deviations to really change. Only the chrono knows! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

i'm not an expert but my .02 .#1 mag are better in cold weather say 10f or below #2 using 60gr of powder or more.#3 hotter = higher pressure so careful at max load at std primer list.

Rimfire,
I have also used them alot for the "non-magnum" cartridges. I use them in my .22-250, .243, .260 and .25-06 right now. I usually try them after extensive load development with standard primers turn up nothing. Johnny K.

Other than cold weather performance, or a substantial quantity of hard to ignite ball powder, there is not much reason to use a mag primer, except for the thrill involved?

I think mag primers, in hot varmint cartridges are not recommended. If you accept the theory that capacity versus bore size will indicate a slow burning rate powder, then the mag primer defeats the purpose, and accelerates your burning rate, yielding slower velocity than a controlled burn with a large rifle primer.

In my 300Winchester, for example, I have always used W8½ primers and 80 grains of H4831, which produces a relatively hot spark (165) I could be wrong(?) but I think that Winchester uses that exact primer in loaded 300 Win Mag ammunition. And, yes, it is a hot large rifle primer. That tells me that Mag primers have a very narrow application. In other words, not a blanket solution. Unless you have a definite purpose, and understand the cause and effect.

Good hunting. LB