Longer range .223

fishingdude7

I am really new to this long range shooting deal. Ive shot since I was 6 however never really at longer range tarets...even 400-500 yards is kinda a strech. I am probably going to buy a rifle soon and will probably get it in the .223 caliber because ammo is cheap and I love to shoot. Basically, I'm wondering what kind of ranges I can even get out of that bullet. I'll probably wind up buying a Rem700, and most likely with a sporter barrel because I dont want to haul around something that weighs a ton. SO if anyone has had experience with a .223 and sporter barrel your enlightenment would be grealy appreciated. Thanks

[ QUOTE ]
I'm wondering what kind of ranges I can even get out of that bullet.

[/ QUOTE ]

Generally the .223 rem is considered a 500 yard coyote gun but that is certainly not carved in stone.

I once own a savage 223 model 11ns, It was very accurate with factory and handloads. It also has a 1 in 9 twist for the heavier bullets. The right handloads were consistent sub 1/2 moa. I would agree with 4ked, 500 yards, If you need more pick a different round.

cool thx fer the imput. I figure for now i'll go with the .223 until I get good at stuff even out to that range, then perhaps practice more with the 3006 ive got here as well.

Had about the same experience with a 223 AI AR 26" 9 twist. Am getting decent terminal ballistics on coyotes out to right around 500 or so with the 69 Nosler Comp.