Lightweight Action Strengths

Nevrsummr

Looks like next build will be a short ultralight build for my wife. 6.5 prc with a 22" ish barrel. Im on the fence about which action to use. Narrowed down to the following:

Defiance anti-x (accepts prefits i believe) (heard of low clearance from bolt handle to scope?)
Terminus kratos lite ( like the 3 lug bolt)
Pierce Titanium. ( currently have one with no issues to report) (lightest available)

One concern is action strength. I have read about actions being much stronger and having less issues with pressure signs. Im a noob here so i dont really understand how that all works out. BAT for example claims their vampire action is 31-42% stiffer than light weight steel and 130% stiffer than titanium. Is that true? Does it matter?

Would it be worth an extra say 12 Oz to get a stiffer action? And if i did, would i see increased velocities due to it being able to handle hotter loads without pressure signs?

Again, noob here so please forgive my ignorance.

Also, i am more interested in learning the hows/whys from this post than in having someone pick an action for me. Would love to hear real world experience with these actions and pressure signs as well.

Thanks in advance!

If your goal is a lightweight hunting rifle, then lightweight should be the first priority. Ti actions are great and if you load within SAAMI pressures they will work just as well as anything else. Running hot loads shouldn't be the reason to get one action over any other action unless you're seriously trying to push the boundaries or velocity and max out the cartridge for whatever reason. We build and sell tons of Ti actions at Pierce and we build a lot of rifles based around our Ti actions. They work excellent and really complete a great lightweight hunting rifle. The anti bind rail and DLC coating really improves the function and reliability of our newer Ti actions.

Last edited: