Kestrel Advice

PingGong3

I'm looking to buy a kestrel and I'm trying to decide which to buy. I'm looking at the 5700 and 5700 elite. Is there a huge advantage to the kestrel elite over the regular 5700? Also, should I do hornady 4dof or applied ballistics?

Thanks

Yes, but I would argue not for hunting. Typically a hunter doesn't want to shoot at velocities much under 1800 fps. The advanced software of the elite is more accurate, but does it matter at that speed, I'd guess.

The software between the 5700 Ballistic and the 5700 Elite are the same, Applied Ballistics, as per the Kestrel website. The firing solutions are the same. The Elite has more features that the Ballistic. I can't comment on the 4dof, as I have no experience with that software. Google search Panhandle Precision, Sam Millard. He has some good videos comparing the two models. They are several years old, but still very informative. Also, the Kestrel website has some good educational videos.

The software between the 5700 Ballistic and the 5700 Elite are the same, Applied Ballistics, as per the Kestrel website. The firing solutions are the same. The Elite has more features that the Ballistic. I can't comment on the 4dof, as I have no experience with that software. Google search Panhandle Precision, Sam Millard. He has some good videos comparing the two models. They are several years old, but still very informative. Also, the Kestrel website has some good educational videos.
The elite lets you use DSF and custom drag curves. DSF isn't really valuable unless you're shooting past your bullet's transonic range, but custom drag curves are more accurate than G1 or G7 BCs. The solvers are the same otherwise.

Buy a 5700, if you decide you need or want the features of the elite you can upgrade the firmware for $300. The price is the same in the end. You can't do that if you get the 4DoF version.