Keep the Sendero a 300 win mag or go 7mm rem mag ?

SofaKing

After a lot of time at the range and reloading bench. I've decided on having a Brux Barrel put on my Sendero. Brux Barrels is local to me in Wisconsin and would like to support the home team.

I've got dies and supplies for both 300 win mag and 7mm rem mag so that won't be a problem.
My thoughts are with running a 7mm rem mag I could run higher .618 BC 168 gr Berger VLD and not have to load 210 Berger VLD to get a higher .625 BC. Also if the 7mm rem mag would possibly have a milder recoil I might be able have my wife shoot it too.

I'll be hunting and shooting steel with this gun so I'm not looking for a 30" barrel length . I'd still like to be able to carry it

As far as barrel length and twist rates what would be some good options for either 7mm rem mag or 300 win mag? Is 5r rifling all it's cracked up to be?

I'm no expert and I'm open to suggestions. I'd like to end up with a .5 MOA rifle that I can ring steel at 1,000yds.

I would go with the .300 Winchester Magnum, in a 1-9" twist.

However, change to a higher capacity 7mm, with a 1-8" for the heavier bullets, I might change my mind.

How, and what I was going to hunt could influence me as well.

morning, the 300 Win. mag. is byfar the best choice for long
range hunting. the 7mm mag. has it's place at limited hunting
ranges. TUM

There's a hundred different ways you can skin this cat. If I were you, before I did all that, I would put a brake on it and run some 215 Bergers on top of some H1000 and see what you think. If you are dead set on putting a barrel on it, might as well get the action cut while its apart. Are you still using the factory Remington trigger? I have a Sendero in 300wm and had 2 others in 7mm Rem, they're not bad guns...when properly tweaked.