Ideas about improving current setup

Ddwarren

I am just getting into long range shooting and am putting my setup together. I wanted some thoughts from more experienced long range shooters regarding my equipment and loads. I am shooting a Rem 700 PSS in 300 RUM. I have worked on it and got the stock trigger set to approximately 22ounces where I feel it is the right pull for me and still safe. I sold my Zeiss conquest and am looking at ordering a Nightforce 5.5X22X56 with the Mil Dot Reticle (any thoughts on this or suggestions). I have been shooting factory 180gr Remington Scirroco bullets but I loaded some Berger 210gr 63BC bullets with 215M primers and 92,95, and 97 gr Retumbo to see which shoots best (a load suggested on this forum). I havent shot it yet (no optics). Most of my shots are in low light in Colorado 10K feet +/- and very cold/moist conditions. I have taken elk and deer from 60yds to 705yds, but have seen them further and am not comfortable with my setup beyond that yet. Also, I am going to be buying a range finder and need some advice along with ballistic software that will load onto a pda. Thanks in advance for the advice.

Curious on your choice of reticle? The aim points on that reticle is around 3.5MOA apart, which means that at 1000yds, you may be shooting at an elk and have no aimpoint on the animal.

I personally like a little finer graduation on my scope, since I try not to click. ( I like just shooting on an aimpoint without touching the scope).

My personal favorites are NP-R1 and NP-R2 depending on distances and cartridges (with NP-R1 having the finest graduation and my favorite)

HTH

AJ